Skip to content

Because You’re Going to Need It

October 18, 2010

Years ago I read Doug Fields book Your First Two Years in Youth Ministry. If you’ve never read it and you’re new to youth ministry, get a copy. I require it as reading for our interns in our ministry because it’s filled with practical advice for new youth pastors. One of my takeaways was what Fields calls The Encouragement File. Fields urges youth pastors to create a file with notes, letters, emails, and cards of encouragement that can be referred to down the road when discouragement comes…and it will.

I received one of those encouraging notes last night after Epicenter from a student by way of a facebook message. It couldn’t have come at a better time. I’m confident last night won’t be the only time I’ll need to read it again either. I’ve filed it under…Encouragement.

SUBSCRIBE TO THIS BLOG TO THE RIGHT →

No comments yet

Leave a comment